Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1957 Topps Gil Hodges Grading Thoughts

Thoughts on the PSA grade this card might receive?

Best Answer

• Options
    JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,241 ✭✭✭✭✭

8.5? Top right corner touched? Beautiful card!

2013,14 and 15 Certificate Award Winner Harmon Killebrew Master Set and Master Topps Set

Answers

• Options

Thanks for the feedback, Joe - I'm new to the grading world. I had submitted some 1959 cards which I thought would have received higher grades than they did - they gave them 6's and 7's - and I was hoping for 8's. I did receive an 8 on a 1940 Playball Bill Dickey, which I was happy about. Questioning my eye (and whether to submit anything else) - so I wanted to get some insights from people who know a bit more than me.

• Options
    JBrulesJBrules Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very nice looking card for sure. I don't think a 9 is likely but not out of the question. Looks like (back of card) light touch on both top corners. I think an 8 is likely with a strong chance of an 8.5. I would submit for grading. 8.5's will sell in the 300+ range and 8's sell for about 130. The last 9 sold for just over 2k. Not sure if you were thinking of selling but it certainly is worth the grading fee to get it holdered/protected. Good luck and let us know how it turns out. Great looking card regardless of what grade it receives.

• Options
    Dand522612Dand522612 Posts: 417 ✭✭✭

Great card, awesome centering. Minimum 8

• Options
    DboneesqDboneesq Posts: 18,220 ✭✭

Gorgeous looking card. My first thought was an "8" or an "8.5". Looking closer, however, I see a few marks on the card. First one is a brown circle at the top of his uniform, just below his neck. At first glance I thought it was a button. Second is a stray mark in the white left border near the bottom. Third is on the reverse at the bottom. A slight mark on the "L" in "Major League Totals". Even if PSA deducts for them, that is still one fine looking card.

STAY HEALTHY!