Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

New Member: Intro and some Photos

Hey there!

I'm a new member here (actually signed up so I could message some one in the b/s/t world coin forum and purchase a coin) and I wanted to make a post introducing myself and my collecting.

First off, my name's Rob and I've been collecting for a short three years or so. Started off very sporadically purchasing big lots of foreign coins and going through them. I wasn't looking for anything specifically and had no real direction with it, it was just a lot of fun researching the coins and their histories. I learned more about geography and world history in that short time than I did in school.

I ended up finding some pretty nice coins during that time, (nothing spectacular, just some key dates, rare series and nice BU coins) but after a couple years of seeing mostly the same coins over and over again I decided to actually focus my collecting.

Just over a year ago I started purchasing milled England/UK and Commonwealth coinage somewhat seriously. I began with an idea for a type set of pre-decimal milled UK coinage that excluded gold and maundy sets and worked backwards. I wasn't looking for anything high grade so it wasn't too difficult to get as far as I have, which is complete until George III, barring a gothic and William IV crown. After that the collection is pretty scattered. There's a handful of older coins from the first two George's, Anne, William and Mary and Charles II, but those types are expensive and not widely available.

Because of the scarcity of those older milled coins in prices I can afford, I began buying the commonwealth issues. I had no thought of a type set for another county, just wanted to get more coins issued by the UK. Started there with counties like Canada, Australia and India (where there was a good amount to choose from) then began looking at the rest and snatching them up whenever one fit my budget and my approval.