Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

PSA grading question - national submission

At the Natty in AC I turned in 3 cards for review and 3 raw cards to get graded. Will get the cards tomorrow, but here is my question about the grading and review process - I never do this so I am an amateur at this.

I turned in two Mantles and a Koufax rookie that were already PSA graded and I submitted them slabbed. PSA was slammed and took about an hour to get through line and get waited on. When the lady from PSA came up I had the sheet filled out and I told her I wanted the cards reviewed to see if they will bump - did not want them cracked out unless they went up a grade. They charged me $200 for the 53 Mantle and $85 each for the 56 Mantle and 55 Koufax - I could not stay that day and had them shipped back to my home address.
I checked my sheet and there is nothing checked for the service level - the girl took the sheet from me and started writing on it and filling it out.

My question is there any circumstance where they would take the cards out and give me a lower grade based on my submission, or do they review them and only crack them if they bump the card. Thank you in advance for the help.

KC

Comments

• Options
    grote15grote15 Posts: 29,546 ✭✭✭✭✭
    They will crack the card out in certain cases if they feel they need to get a better assessment of the card's condition (usually when they are on the fence about the bump). Generally speaking, a card cannot be downgraded on review. However, if that were the case, they would reholoder the card and reimburse you for the difference in value between grades. This should really never happen, though, as cards that are submitted for review should be high end for the grade to begin with, not overgraded.

Collecting 1970s Topps baseball wax, rack and cello packs, as well as PCGS graded Half Cents, Large Cents, Two Cent pieces and Three Cent Silver pieces.
  • Options
    KendallCatKendallCat Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭✭✭