Home U.S. & World Currency Forum
Options

Collecting Goals....

So has anyone ever sat back and looked at your long term collecting goals and realize you may never get there? The reason I ask is I have been doing a re-eval for my insurance company on my collection. I've been chasing depression scrip for almost 25 years now. So I have a pretty good collection (at least if you ask me...) along with lots of other side collections.

But what's really crazy is after 25 years, I'm barely over 50% of my goal which is try to collect an example of all known depression scrip and document it on the web.

The last reference on depression scrip was in 1984 and it listed approximately 3259 examples. I'm counting variations and different denominations for each issue.

To date, I've found an additional 413 examples not listed in the book. So that's 3672 different notes on my want list. After 25 years, and visiting thousands of coin shows, thousands of miles of travel, hundreds of coin shops, I have 1883 of these examples. Not to mention all the money spent on what I have actually purchased, there's all the money spent on the chase. So that's just over 50% of my goal. And a big percentage of the notes I now need are the tougher ones to find. So does that mean if I put in another 25 years can I bump that percentage above 80%, 90%, or ??

I've always known I can't get to 100%, some notes are one of a kind and I will probably never see them. I've come to realize my goal is DEFINITELY unattainable and not even close so now it's a "let's see how close I can get" goal and get them documented on my website.

Anyone else have that sinking feeling that you're just are not going to get there?
Come and see a forgotten piece of history.....

http://www.depressionscrip.com

Always looking for more depression scrip -- PM me if you have any for sale or trade

Comments

• Options
    TookybanditTookybandit Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭✭