Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

My hobby

Let me tell you about myself,I'm retired after 39 years carry mail in Illinois and Florida and who knows that I might have carried a 1952 topps Mickey Mantle back then :-( Ha I never opened anybody's mail I could have lose my job and I never will be able to collect cards! I've been collecting since 1988 and my first baseball set was 1988 topps baseball for 25 dollars,yikes it's now sells for 5. Oh well live and learn. I live in Woodstock,il not New York and slowing start building a 1964 psa 8 baseball,1961 psa 8 fleer football and psa 8 1970-71 topps basketball. I love those sets. I'm also collecting raw baseball from 1959-69,1960-69 football and 1969-76 basketball. It's alot of fun hunting them down at shops and in the internet. It's nice to hears story on the thread and could learn some valuable lessons on grading cards and had some good and bad results from the PSA peoples,they don't always agree with me ha.

4 ever orioles

John (Johnny Hajduk)

Oh one more thing I will be going to the PSA show in Rosemont, Il on May 14th or 15th, let me know who's going.

Comments

• Options
    Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,351 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hiya Johnny

I just retired myself - I retired from the Army and then finally from the private sector.

First, I wish you all the best with your sets - that's keep ya pretty busy.

If you plan on going to the National - you'll meet all kinds of people at the BBCEx booth; they hang out there pretty much all the time during the convention.

Take care buddy.

Mike
  • Options
    Hi Johnny, always nice to hear from fellow collectors. I just retired from the Marine Corps as well. 21 years of traveling and am looking forward to staying in one spot and not moving my family or collection around anymore. My first set was 1980 topps as a kid and I was born and raised in Baltimore! So we share a love for the birds!
  • Options
    mccardguy1mccardguy1 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭