Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Advice on Building 61 Fleer Bkball set??

Hi,

So I've bought the Big 3 (Wilt, West, Oscar) in the last 3 mos on relative whims, and now wondering if I should build the whole set with those 3 out of the way. It's a classic, good looking set and modest in size.

The 3 I have are in the 6.5-7 range, so I guess I'd be looking at the same for the remaining. I'm a relative newbie to this set except I've learned centering is a b8tch, and many cards are sized differently.

Any tips or suggestions for building this set? Can I buy and self sub, or how risky are the min sizes?

Thanks!
Matt

Comments

• Options
    Matt,
    Min size is a big issue on these cards but some always sneak through. I would look for most of your cards graded in form from PSA. I'm 67% through my set now in PSA 7 and it's a blast to collect (smaller set size helps). My advice to you would be sell your big three to me and work on this set in the PSA 8 range image.

Good Luck!

My new website www.lowgradegems.com

Tim
  • Options
    Nathaniel1960Nathaniel1960 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Get the Big "E" RC and stop there. Apologies to Sihugo Green.
    Kiss me once, shame on you.
    Kiss me twice.....let's party.
  • Options
    flatfoot816flatfoot816 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭
    great set! mine is currently #7. If you have the big 3--go for the entire set. Suggestion would be to do PSA-8s of all the others since most are affordable. Took me maybe 10 years to get to #7. I started out going for all PSA-7s--then started to get 8s---and now shooting for as many 9s as I can get. Do not buy raw and submit

Note--do not forget the 1st card--Attles. Tough in PSA-8 and undervalued IMO. Russell 2nd year has also seen a spike since his rookie card from '57 went out of sight pricewise

best of luck
  • Options
    BaltimoreYankeeBaltimoreYankee Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭✭✭