Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

So just how did Oreville become the “Eliasberg of Sample Slabs”??

WingsruleWingsrule Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭✭
Twelve years ago tomorrow (leap year of all things), Oreville posts a Regency slab he had just acquired and foolishly asked him if it was for sale. As you can imagine, even at double the price, it wasn’t going anywhere.

By this point in time, I had been collecting samples for 6-8 months and probably had 50 or so in my collection, many in part to our old friend Cameron. I used to send him a check every once in awhile and he would respond by sending a handful of samples my way.

Fast forward a month, and here comes an NGC MS-63 Morgan on ebay. It was on my watch list, and every time I looked it seemed the price had jumped by $10. Looking at the bidders, which you could still do at that time, showed that one individual kept entering incremental bids trying to discover the leading bidder’s max. Thinking I recognized the bidder, I inquired again via PM here on the boards. Yep, same person. He went on to tell me that there were no known 63s as all the other ones were in 60 holders.

From there were the occasional “I found this one” and “are you interested in this dupe I have” PMs and several successful transactions followed.

Somewhere in this timeline, some ebayer with the handle of “midnitesurfer” appears. I instantly begin disliking him as he outbids me on many of the samples I need. I get a few, but not enough. As time unfolds, we begin communicating, and shortly thereafter, he decides to bail on the wonderful world of sample slabs.

Victory! A few emails later, a check is leaving my hands to be exchanged for boxes of samples. Many of them seen previously only on the sampleslabs.com website: a PCGS Franklin come to mind, not to mention the unique PCGS Morgan mule that has become famous over the past few weeks.