Home U.S. & World Currency Forum

Question - Large sized US gold certificates...

I am just getting into currency. As I have been searching, I have noticed that the large-sized US gold certificates online, both raw and certified, have extremely vibrant reverses. A vibrant reverse is what I'm looking for, but how many of those online images have enhanced coloring through manipulation? What are your experiences? Cheers

Bob

Comments

• Outhaul, as they say in Las Vegas -- sometimes it's a crapshoot. Just be very careful and be certain to check the Feedback for the seller. IF you have any questions about an item you might pose it here on the forum; we are friendly and usually answer to the best of our collective experiences. Good luck. Oh, welcome to the fascinating world of currency collecting, visit often and do share your treasures as you acquire them.

Looking for CU $1 FRN 05232016 - any series or block. Please PM
    Looking for CU $1 FRN 20160523 - any series or block. Please PM

Retired

• It is not just gold certificates that are photoshopped - people try and clean up notes with software to look better. Bright colors sell. Just a look through eBay shows a range of terrible photos, bad scans, blindingly enhanced notes, as well as natural looking ones. Crappy photos are just as bad as overly enhanced. The best method is to see in hand and get experience with what a natural looking note should look like. Then online colors can be gauged better. Look for contrast (difference between lightest and darkest colors) and saturation (how "colorful" a color is, brightness). A lot of times increasing saturation also makes green brighter, and that should be easy to gauge. Of course, a person can subtly enhance a note as well as grossly. Banknote paper is not really "white" so that is another test to see if the note has been tampered with too.
  • numbersmannumbersman Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭✭