Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Please critique this newp San Marino 1869 5 Centisimi

Boy, this coin is tough to find in higher grades. Found this one raw in an Italian dealer's inventory. Pictures looked like the coin could be UNC, so I took a shot at 155 Euro (plus shipping, 170 Euro all in).

I was on a business trip, arrived home on a redeye this morning and had a couple coins waiting for me, this was one of them. Could people more knowledgeable in this issue critique it for me? I was told that this coin has been put away for some time, came from a collection a person developed in 1902...It looks original as evidenced by the fingerprints (in a weird way, it makes sense that the coin would have them), and then it toned over. It definitely looks UNC from where I sit, but I am not an expert. San Marino is such a tiny place that I was hoping someone here might know their coinage.

Thank you in advance!

Comments

• Options
    brg5658brg5658 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks like an original and crusty copper coin to me. I'd grade it MS62BN, limited by luster, fingerprint, and a "look" that graders seem to not like to grade much higher.

As an avid copper collector, I like the coin -- assuming none of the "color" is actually growing -- sometimes the blue/green toning and light verdi gris are difficult to differentiate in photos. That comment is particularly pointed at the area around "LICA" on the obverse.
    -Brandon
    -~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-
    My sets: [280+ horse coins] :: [France Sowers] :: [Colorful world copper] :: [Beautiful world coins]
    -~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

• Options
    mercurydimeguymercurydimeguy Posts: 4,625 ✭✭✭✭
    Originally posted by: brg5658