Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Oddball Pistol Pete mail day.

I've been collecting Pete Maravich cards for a few years and yet I had never seen or heard of one of these before it popped up on eBay about a week ago. It's out of a French magazine called 5 Majeur and between 1991 and 1993 issues contained perforated cards you could tear out and collect. They're printed on thick magazine paper and measure approximately 3 7/8 x 6. When I looked on Worthpoint I only came up with 3 results so it looks to be pretty rare. I have no idea if anybody grades these, but Beckett does have a checklist on their website, although it's incomplete and the Maravich isn't listed. I don't see it being graded very high because it's paper, but it would be cool if I could get it encapsulated.

Comments

• Options
    rexvosrexvos Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭✭✭
    That is cool.
    Looking for FB HOF Rookies
  • Options
    craig44craig44 Posts: 10,550 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Love odd ball stuff. Thanks for sharing

George Brett, Roger Clemens and Tommy Brady.

• Options
    IndianaJonesIndianaJones Posts: 346 ✭✭✭
    Mires---What a thoroughly dynamite Pistol Pete card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Do see if PSA will grade this elegant, eye appealing piece. Bring to them your research of other sales and potential grading. Even if no one has actually graded one; there's nothing wrong with being the first!. I mean, the sources for cards of some famous athletes can be pretty obscure. I'm recalling a very rare, hyper expensive card of worldwide soccer hero, Pele.

So, phone PSA customer service. If you can, give them the details of the source of this piece, and remember to print VERY CLEARLY and EXPLICITLY what you wish the PSA cert to say. See if the French magazine offered any other NBA and/or athletes from other sports. Though there's no card number; that's immaterial.