Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1957 Topps Bill Russell: A 2 year exercise in patience

Hi everyone,

Like many of you, I have a list of cards that I would one day love to own. My collection is quite modest, but I enjoy every card, even those not of high grade or value. To be quite honest, I get the most enjoyment of low grade, strong eye appeal vintage cards that fit my collecting budget.

One card that has been an absolute beast to meet my collecting criteria has been the 1957 Topps Bill Russell rookie. There have been quite a few examples for sale, but not quite met the eye appeal criteria in low grade I have searched for. Ebay often has 3-4 lower graded available, but the one thing that always seemed to make me pass was the centering. I am by no means an expert in 1957 Topps Basketball, but I would feel comfortable saying that less than 5% of all Russell rookies are even close to 60/40 centering, let alone 50/50. They really are all over the map. So finding a low grade, near perfect centered example was starting to seem like a dream.

I had resigned my fate to a low grade example with centering issues, probably 70/30 at best. There was a pretty clean PSA 4 that was in auction format on eBay that ended last Sunday. It was a nice card, but was off top to bottom and left to right. It wasn't severe, but still, it was noticeable. I placed a snipe, and was quickly blown out of the water. Lost the auction. Didn't lose any sleep. Maybe it's just not meant to be.