Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Grading and Surface Issues (Update--Grade Posted)

There's been mention on a couple of threads recently about the importance of surface to grading, and how difficult it can be to judge. I get the general concept, but I'm not sure how it plays out in practice given the variety of surface issues possible. I feel like I have a pretty good handle on the other aspects of grading (though I'm still learning) but I thought it would help me and might help others to talk about it with a specific example.

I've been thinking of subbing this 1979 Molitor for my personal collection. Given what I've got into it and the grading and shipping, it really only makes sense if it will come out at least a 7. I think based on what you can easily see in a scan it would have a very good shot at that 7.

But on closer inspection there are two dimples or impressions in the surface, the size of which is shown on the scan below.

Now, how will those surface issues be taken into account by a grader? Could this card still achieve a 7 or will it automatically be downgraded to something lower?

Update with grade: 24528464 NEAR MINT-MINT 8 1979 Topps 24 Paul Molitor

Comments

• Options
    hyperchipper09hyperchipper09 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have 9's and 10's with dimples / impressions. It is the discretion of the grader/graders.
  • Options
    PaulMaulPaulMaul Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I have 9's and 10's with dimples / impressions. It is the discretion of the grader/graders. >>

Yes. I really wish it was an exact science, but the reality is, there are grading guidelines, and each human grader interprets them the best he can. The results are not always consistent.

Although certain things like spider creases/wrinkles seem to be penalized pretty heavily by everyone. It's more issues that vary in severity that get interpreted differently.
  • Options
    grote15grote15 Posts: 29,535 ✭✭✭✭✭