Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Cracking open a PSA sealed 1970 cello pack - update

Considering opening a 1970 cello pack. I do not have many tools (like a dremel). Any advice?
Daniel

Comments

• cpamikecpamike Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭
    Daniel, from what I've heard as everyone knows I have no practical experience doing this, you can take a pair of pliers and snap off one of the corners at the top. Then take a flat end screwdriver to pry it open. Good luck.

Edited to add: I would also hold the pack flat at the edge of a table so only the corner of the slab goes flying.
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep."

"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."

Collecting:
    Any unopened Baseball cello and rack packs and boxes from the 1970's and early 1980s.
  • LarkinCollectorLarkinCollector Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Place one of the upper corners in a ziplock (to catch the shards) and hammer. Flathead screwdriver to pry apart once you have an opening.
  • lightningboylightningboy Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭
    Place one of the upper corners in a ziplock (to catch the shards) and hammer. Flathead screwdriver to pry apart once you have an opening.

My procedure to a tee +1
  • psychumppsychump Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭
    I use a wire cutter and cut across the top, then one cut on each side of top, then pry with long thin screwdriver. If you twist the screwdriver once it is inside holder it loosens it up even more. Never a problem,it takes about two-three minutes.
    Tallulah Bankhead — 'There have been only two geniuses in the world. Willie Mays and Willie Shakespeare.'
  • jmoran19jmoran19 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Considering opening a 1970 cello pack. I do not have many tools (like a dremel). Any advice? >>

Will need pics of the front and back to strongly consider opening LOL

Current obsession, all things Topps 1969 - 1972