Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Roman coin help

I just bought a 50 coin lot of roman AE3 -AE4 coins and this is my first time to do anything with ancient roman coins at all. Im wondering if anyone around has some expertise or insight to provide. These are the pictures I have I will be cleaning and electrolysis as well. I also bought The Handbook of Roman Imperial Coins. so any help/advice would be welcomed

V/r

Chris

http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo106/coffeyce/Roman1.jpg
http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo106/coffeyce/Roman2.jpg
http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo106/coffeyce/Roman3.jpg
http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo106/coffeyce/Roman4.jpg

Comments

• Options
    bronzematbronzemat Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not a bad batch for cleaning. Majority are from the reign of Constantine I, his sons and some later empire, like Valens, Valentinian I & such. Theyre basically common stuff but there may be some from scarcer to rare mints, possibly a scarcer emperor.
  • Options
    you're about to get real familiar with the constantinian dynasty
    =Recipient of the coveted "You Suck" award 4/28/2014=
  • Options
    bronzematbronzemat Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>you're about to get real familiar with the constantinian dynasty >>

And its my least favorite type of roman coinage too.
  • Options
    TIF2TIF2 Posts: 233
    Like Mat, I'm not overly fond of late Roman bronzes but that is a fantastic batch! They look identifiable as-is and most will clean up very nicely. Where did you find such a great lot?
  • Options
    NapNap Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I see no reason to use electrolysis on those coins. While they are probably cheap coins and you won't feel bad if you ruin them, I don't see any reason to do so.

Electrolysis is a last resort method of cleaning for severely encrusted coins. It will destroy a coin's patina! It is not to remove loose dirt!