Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Long time collector, very first issue with Post Office, need advice but future looks grim

Hi Guys, just asking the proper protocol here

Purchased item on ebay

seller did not upload tracking, so I did not follow the progress of the package. When I asked him, he provided the tracking number, and it was supposedly delivered 10 days prior!

Postal Product:
Priority Mail 2-Day™
USPS Tracking™
Up to $50 insurance included (items was $249.99)
Restrictions Apply

Items says delivered in/at mailbox

Package never showed up.

I'm worried this might become a pattern, and since it shows delivered, I am SOL?

Postmaster asked carrier, but he claims he put it in there. I get numerous packages each day, and there is no way he happens to remember this one.

I've been checking ebay/craigslist local for the lot of 29 1952 topps to no avail.

I'm not sure what to do at this point

Opinions/advice appreciated

thanks in advance

Comments

• SmittysSmittys Posts: 9,876 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Think you might be SOL given it shows delivered and the postoffice backs it up JMHO sorry
  • MULLINS5MULLINS5 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭
    Sorry this happened. This sort of thing has happened to me before.

I think eBay and/or paypal raised the signature confirmation requirement from $250 to $750. If this is the case then you are out of luck, I'd think, unfortunately.

If the requirement is for the buyer to add signature confirmation to the package (which is total price paid including shipping) then you should be covered as long as the shipping was not free as that would have tipped the total price over $250.

Our mailman sometimes gives my mail to neighbors and it's annoying. Thankfully, everyone one our street is honest enough to return the items. It happens to us all regularly! Nobody has complained, yet, because the mailman is pretty old, so I know I at least feel sort of bad.

Best of luck I hope this works out for you (and the seller).

Patrick