Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

A coin from every century?

Just food for thought. For those who like history. Is it possible to own a coin from every century? Is this even possible?
I'm still learning myself but thought that might be an interesting project.

Comments

• Options
    YQQYQQ Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭✭✭
    might be possible.. BUT how far back will you want to go? there has to be an end somewhere???
    Today is the first day of the rest of my life
  • Options
    TiborTibor Posts: 3,261 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A coin from each century is a doable project. The problem would
    be to pick a theme for the venture. Always pick the best coin with
    little if any problems that you can afford. Problem coins will haunt
    you when you decide to sell and start another project.
  • Options
    Here is a thread I started on this subject a while back. Some good info there. hope the link works.

Text

Successful BST deals with mustangt and jesbroken. Now EVERYTHING is for sale.

• Options
    SwampboySwampboy Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Funny but I was just thinking about this the other day when I realized I was just two centuries shy (3rd B.C. & 5th A.D.) of a 'run' from the 4th century B.C. to the 6th century A.D.

I think I'll look around for 7th 8th 9th and 10th century coins this weekend and decide if a OFEC(entury) collection looks like fun.
  • Options
    coinkatcoinkat Posts: 22,795 ✭✭✭✭✭
    sounds fun

Experience the World through Numismatics...it's more than you can imagine.

• Options
    NapNap Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Certainly possible to do. Very difficult to do well, without the appearance of too random an accumulation.

It might be fun to do with a theme of Greece, starting with electrum issues, continuing to Athenian, Macedonian, Roman issues, moving on to Byzantine, Ottoman, and modern Greek coinage.

Have no idea what kind of budget you would need for such an endeavor.