Home PSA Set Registry Forum

When does a shipping fee of slabs become exorbitant?

Had an issue very recently with eBay mega seller Probstein123. I decided to dwell into '77 Topps baseball when I noticed a nice high quality set break Probstein was auctioning on eBay. At the end of the day, I won 196 slabs (for over $2k). They were won over different days. He created 6 invoices and charged shipping fees on each. The fees totaled $83. I asked him to combine and reduce the fee and after about 15 different eBay messages back and forth, at the end of the day, he did not reduce the fee one cent. He claimed he was bound by eBay rules as they limit invoices to 40 items. Obviously we all know this, as I have been collecting for years and have utilized Ebay for over 2000 slab purchases myself, which have included several purchases of 100 or more slabs from various sellers in the past. I pointed out that when Prewar, Novella, or the likes ship large lots, they do combine shipping fees in that they will charge for shipping on one of the 40 lot invoices and just charge zero on others. Seller Probstein skirted this example and reasoning stating they possibly didn't understand eBay rules and this was not allowed and could further jeopardize his power seller ratings. He argued and refused to combine and reduce the rate. I know those 196 slabs could easily pack and fit in two large USPS Priority flat rate boxes and be sent for a cost of under $33. I explained that to him and he still refused - standing his ground that eBay would not allow it. Of course when I called and spoke to an eBay supervisor they disagreed. Several times during our correspondence Probstein offered just to cancel everything, and initially I refused in hopes I could reason with him to reduce the fee to some reasonable amount. I even advised him that on 7/21/14 I had won 113 slabs on eBay from seller Apple383. Over three invoices Mike charged $12.50, free and free to ship them all. More than fair, right? Probstei