Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Help. Best way to submit these Ryan Rookies

I just bought these at Ebay. Made a lowish offer and was surprised that it was accepted. Terms of auction says that he guarantees not altered. So, I really have no choice but to sumbit for crossover grading. Right? Also, he has sold a few other cards graded by this same grader and has 100% feedback. All high end stuff.

I have never done this before. In your experience, does subbing in a junk holder bias graders against? I was going to sub with min of 8. They look very sharp and seem to measure correctly. Thoughts? Appreciate it.image

Comments

• Options
    EagleEyeKidEagleEyeKid Posts: 4,496 ✭✭
    At least these guys no longer use screwdown holders with rivets.
    You still have to ask yourself, why are these cards in these holders in the first place?
    I think if you sub them in junk holders, they'll just laugh at you and keep your money.

I would crack out the bottom one and sub it raw. I would send the top one in and ask for a min of 5.

Edit: Didn't the reprints have darker red letters for 1968 rookie pictures? I see the Mets logo is different
    in both. One is blue and one is purple, but what the hell do I know.
  • Options
    if unaltered, they're nowhere near 5s. that's silly. i have had an 8 before and it was right in this range (raw submit).
  • Options
    Good luck! You can try and defend your purchase anyway you'd like, but unless you got these 2 cards for peanuts
    I don't think your results will be good. Any big name cards that are not in the big 3 automatically raises red flags.
  • Options