Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

What is policy for what is in composites? ; How is it decided not to grade certain cards anymore ?

This has been sent to Joe Orlando for a reply......

No to go off on a rant, but...I am pretty pissed off about the recent decision of PSA to no longer grade what Ill call "hang tags". These are the cards that hang from BB gloves and other products.

My 1984 Rawlings set is here ...see [http://www.psacard.com/PSASETREGISTRY/Composite.aspx?c=10100]

So I get the complete set award 2 years in a row and then I'm deactivated.

Same thing for the Wilson hang tags: http://www.psacard.com/PSASETREGISTRY/alltimeset.aspx?s=112563. The PSA answer to both of these is "We don't grade these anymore"...no reason why...to bad you cant complete your set...period.

Lets look at this in more depth.

I have an active Mantle Master set as do many of you. How is it decided what is in the set and what is not. What about the following items :

- 1950 DAIRYLEA MICKEY MANTLE REFLECTOR DECAL (a pic of Mantle to be decaled onto a bicycle)
- 1953-55 DORMAND MICKEY MANTLE-BATTING LEFT - (a postcard )
- 1954 NEW YORK JOURNAL AMERICAN MICKEY MANTLE (a picture of MAntle cut from a newspaper)
- 1961 BASEBALL PLAYER KEY CHAINS-INSERT MICKEY MANTLE ( are you kidding me !!)
- 1961-1963 BOBBIN' HEAD DOLLS MICKEY MANTLE (AD PHOTO) ( completely unbelievable an ad photo of a bobbin head - I am flabbergasted)

My questions are:

1. what the hell are these doing in the Mantle Master set (just an example I can pull out loads of others as well)

2. Why did PSA decide "we don't grade hang tags anymore" they certainly belong in a set way more than a picture from a newspaper or key chain insert or a ad photo of a bobbin head !

Comments

• Options
    csakerscsakers Posts: 239
    Phil,

I completely understand your frustration. I cannot figure out PSA's thought process either.