Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1891-O Morgan dollar ?VAM-1A

NapNap Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭✭✭
This is a silver dollar I've had since I was a kid. My grandmother pulled it from circulation and kept it when she worked for a bank.

I'm still learning to take pics, so sorry in advance.

I don't know Morgans well. Can anyone tell me if this is VAM-1A or one of its subtypes.

I am sure I dipped this coin as a kid, was foolish then, but it's had some years to retone. Should I get it certified? Does it have any value? Although I probably wouldn't sell it as it has some personal meaning to me..

Comments

• Options
    BustHalfBrianBustHalfBrian Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭
    Yup, you've got it image And the reverse die crack means it's a pretty late die state.

Congrats! Looks AU53-ish to me, but is that damage below the eagle's left wing at inner-left field?
    Lurking and learning since 2010. Full-time professional numismatist.
  • Options
    Nice coin, I wish I could take pictures half as well!!
    All the best,

Rob

Successful Trades with: Coincast, MICHAELDIXON

Successful Purchases from: Manorcourtman, Meltdown
  • Options
    Nice coin and very good back story.
  • Options
    coindeucecoindeuce Posts: 13,471 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You actually have VAM 1A2, as evidenced by the noticeable bulge in the left reverse field which is bisected by a major die crack. This particular stage of the clashed E variety is ranked as Rarity 7 by Leroy Van Allen. This is the terminal stage of the dies, so few examples have been seen.

"Everything is on its way to somewhere. Everything." - George Malley, Phenomenon
    http://www.americanlegacycoins.com

• Options
    morbidstevemorbidsteve Posts: 571 ✭✭✭
    Beautiful coins, I absolutely love the clashing!
  • Options
    DennisHDennisH Posts: 13,963 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm more inclined to call it XF45, and I love its originality and late die state that, as coindeuce has said, is pretty scarce.
    When in doubt, don't.
  • Options
    NapNap Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭✭✭