Home Sports Talk
Options

Pro hoops in the SF Bay Area this new season is going to be fun.

SanctionIISanctionII Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭✭
Just finished watching the Warriors put a 125 to 94 beat down on the Kobeless Lakers tonight. The team is very deep, can score from anywhere and are playing smothering defense. Oracle Arena will be rocking this year.

Comments

• Options
    1985fan1985fan Posts: 1,952 ✭✭
    Heck yeah it will be, and tonight's blowout would have been even worse if Kobe had been playing. Kobe long ago stopped playing defense, and his ball hog, poor percentage shooting has only gotten worse. They would have lost by 40+ tonight if Kobe had been in there.

• Options
    While I have no personal knowledge of what Kobe's teammates over the years think of him, it appears that his style of play does not make the other 4 players on the floor with him play better, both individually and as a team. If he does come back this year to play again, he may or may not help the team. The Lakers are positioning themselves to rebuild the team with big name free agent signings next summer (LeBron for example) and it will be interesting to see if Kobe will be on the 2014-15 roster.

I'm the meantime the Warriors may make some noise this year and not be viewed as a dead end franchise.
  • Options
    larryallen73larryallen73 Posts: 6,057 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Heck yeah it will be, and tonight's blowout would have been even worse if Kobe had been playing. Kobe long ago stopped playing defense, and his ball hog, poor percentage shooting has only gotten worse. They would have lost by 40+ tonight if Kobe had been in there. >>

I am not a Kobe, or Laker, fan but to say the "blowout would have been worse if Kobe had been playing" is a bit of a stretch. He is truly one of the top 10 players of all time. He still plays some defense and though he shoots too much he gives other players open chances as he draws defenders. You can be a hater if you want but come on man.
  • Options