Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Numismaster revisited

I complained long and hard about the Numismaster interface when they rolled out the product. I sent them constructive input at the time, but they never fixed anything... and they still haven't.

But you know, I've been using it in lieu of lugging around huge tomes for about 2 years now, and despite its interface shortcomings, I'm sold for several reasons:

1. Portability. I can access it from my home computer, my work computer, my laptop, heck I've even used it on my cellphone.

2. Timeliness. Prices get updated on a more frequent basis than the printed volumes. No more waiting 2-5 years for some of the volumes to get the next edition.

3. Value. When they first brought out the product, the annual cost for the "All-Access Pass" was a ludicrous $149 per year, if I recall correctly. At that price it was a no-go, but since they have brought the annual price down to a reasonable level (see below), it's easily worthwhile, IMO.

The key is to *NOT* subscribe through Numismaster, where it shows $109.95 per year.

What you want to do is purchase a membership to the ShopNumismaster "VIP Club".

A "VIP Club" membership gets you the following (U.S. residents):

1. A one-year subscription to the print edition of Numismatic News (52 weekly issues, usually $29.99/year).

2. A one-year subscription to the digital edition of World Coin News (12 monthly issues, usually $22.99/year).

3. A one-year subscription to the "All-Access Pass" at Numismaster (normally $109.95/year), which includes the online equivalent of the following printed catalogs:

North American Coins & Prices (U.S. & Canada)
Standard Catalog of World Coins (1601-1700)
Standard Catalog of World Coins (1701-1800)
Standard Catalog of World Coins (1801-1900)
Standard Catalog of World Coins (1901-2000)
Standard Catalog of World Coins (2001+)
Unusual World Coins