Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1971 Topps Cello pack: Legit?

Just came across a ebay auction for a 1971 Topps Cello pack of 30 cards. I have very little knowledge and information on any cello packs pre-1975, was just wondering if the brain-trust here has any helpful insights on this particular auction. Does the pack look real and legit? I usually only see early 70s cellos in box form or graded in the box. Is there a reason to sell it without the box besides it being lost or destroyed? Any cello packaging pre 1973 is just clear cellophane and has no writing on it correct? Any help is appreciated, thanks guys.

link: Text
I collect vintage PSA graded SF Giants, Willie Mays, McCovey, Cepeda, Marichal and Perry. And modern players like Buster Posey, Will Clark and Barry Bonds.

youtube acct

Comments

• Options
    Dpeck100Dpeck100 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options
    cpamikecpamike Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭
    Linky

Damn you Dpeck. image
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep."

"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."

Collecting:
    Any unopened Baseball cello and rack packs and boxes from the 1970's and early 1980s.
  • Options
    grote15grote15 Posts: 29,523 ✭✭✭✭✭
    This seller has sold a number of very questionable racks and cellos, including headless racks and "grocery" cellos. Don't like the way that seal looks, either. I would avoid.

Edit to add: With a discalimer like this one: We do not guarantee any 2nd party grading you are pretty much being informed up front..

Collecting 1970s Topps baseball wax, rack and cello packs, as well as PCGS graded Half Cents, Large Cents, Two Cent pieces and Three Cent Silver pieces.
  • Options
    It doesn't look good to me. He should have picked up a box for it as they aren't overly expensive.

You are right that there were no graphics on the cellos for baseball prior to 1973.