Home Buy, Sell & Trade - Cards & Memorabilia

PSA Grade Value Question

Hi,

I am new to card grading but am learning the best I can. I have noticed that on Ebay there is a drastic difference in the price buyers pay for centered cards versus off-centered cards. I have seen certain cards that were graded PSA 9(OC) sell for 25-40% less than cards graded PSA 9. Obviously cards are worth what people are willing to pay for them and these are Ebay buyers, but is this typically the case in the industry and is there that significant of a difference in value between centered and off-centered cards? Just wanted to get opinions.

Thanks,
Joe

Comments

• CounselorCounselor Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭
    Yes, due to eye appeal, there is much more demand for centered cards. Same can be said for color and print, but typically people will pay more of a premium for centered cards
  • DboneesqDboneesq Posts: 18,220 ✭✭
    Joe,

On average I would say the difference between a PSA 9 and a PSA 9o/c is a lot more than 25%-40%. Very often a PSA 9 sells for many times what a PSA 9o/c would sell for.
    STAY HEALTHY!

Doug

Liquidating my collection for the 3rd and final time. Time for others to enjoy what I have enjoyed over the last several decades. Money could be put to better use.
  • jay0791jay0791 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭✭
    in psa grading any negative qualifier is considered 2 grades less.
    example a 9oc is considered no more valuable than a psa 7.

In fact is is often even less than that

a 9 might go for $200 and a 9oc might go for 30
    Collecting PSA... FB,BK,HK,and BB HOF RC sets
    1948-76 Topps FB Sets
    FB & BB HOF Player sets
    1948-1993 NY Yankee Team Sets