Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Luck Auto Cards! $25,000+++ Why?

Afternoon fellow collectors!

I have collected for a while, (30 years, including very vintage...) and I am dumbfounded at the prices that Andrew Luck, etc. cards are going for on eBay. I am new to the, "new stuff," but this is really getting out of hand in my opinion. I am seeing prices that he reflects the best of all time at his position and also, "the most rare of rare."

I write to You now, wondering how and why, Andrew Luck's rookie card from anywhere can go for these numbers. I have heard it's because of supply and demand......??? Hmmm???? Supply and demand of what? Someone who can get hurt on one play? Someone who could emotionally flip? Someone who's team's decisions could affect his "stock" price?

I am old enough to remember Joe Theisman's knee awful injury, and as a stock & currency trader would YOU really shell out $20K+++ right now for him given the danger of hard hits in the league? If you would, I am shocked. The risk/reward scenario is terrible.

Please, by all means, let me know Your thoughts on this subject......for I still enjoy the excitement that is going on!

Thanks,

Clyde

Comments

• Options
    I think it's more about the status of owning the card than actually looking at it as an investment. You had that guy in 2010 who bought the Strasburg superfractor 1/1 for around 20K and his purchase got picked up by the associated press and ran in countless newspapers. and Strasburg got injured and needed Tommy John surgery and a whole lot of people gasped out of fear. As many have stated on these boards, too many people with more dollars than sense.
    Next MONTH? So he's saying that if he wins, the best-case scenario is that he'll be paying for it two weeks after the auction ends?

Forget blocking him; find out where he lives and go punch him in the nuts. --WalterSobchak 9/12/12

Looking for Al Hrabosky and any OPC Dave Campbells (the ESPN guy)
  • Options