Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Finally got my "white whale": 1967 Venezuelan Winter League #98 Damaso Blanco (update: got

I've been hunting this card for a few years. Since it proved very difficult to find, it ended up being the last one I needed to have a complete collection of the first card (major league, minor, or foreign) of EVERYONE who's ever played for the SF Giants since they moved out west in 1958.

He was a utility infielder who got most of his playing time as a late game sub. Topps never bothered to make a card of him in the American sets, and I don't see that he had any American minor league cards.

When I finalized the deal for this card, I felt like a little kid again, and opening the mail box was like a mini version of Christmas morning. Unfortunately the guy who sold it to me quietly waited 3 weeks after I paid him before he actually sent the card, but that's another story.

Anyways, here it is, the 1967 Venezuelan Winter League #98 Damaso Blanco.

Apparently these cards were frequently glued or taped into albums, so you can see that the card has horrid paper-loss on the back. Half of it is glue and paper that I might be able to get off, but the middle part is actual paper-loss. I asked one of the big Venezuelan collectors here if he could email me a nice scan of the back of his graded one so I can print it out and stick it in the toploader with it. image

My Giants collection want list

WTB: 2001 Leaf Rookies & Stars Longevity: Ryan Jensen #/25

Comments

• Options
    calaban7calaban7 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭
    I remember when you first posted about looking for this , I did a hard look around the sites that sell "odd" stuff . I never had a blip on the screen . I'm happy that you finally found it ,----- Sonny
    " In a time of universal deceit , telling the truth is a revolutionary act " --- George Orwell
  • Options
    JustinsShoeboxJustinsShoebox Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭