Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Braves Pitchers of the 90's (1986 Procards)

As a big Braves fan of the 90's, I thought about putting together registry sets for the "Big 3" pitchers of the Bobby Cox era, but with all the modern sets and #'d cards post 2000, it was too daunting of a task. So, I decided instead just to get the best card of each that I could. The ironic thing is that they all come in the same set....the 1986 Procards minor league set has the first cards issued of Greg Maddux, John Smoltz, and Tom Glavine. I have been buying these for several years, but the versions below are my favorites. I just bought the Maddux this week.

Edited for grammar only.
Successful transactions with: thedutymon, tsalems1, davidpuddy, probstein123, lodibrewfan, gododgersfan, dialj, jwgators, copperjj, larryp, hookem, boopotts, crimsontider, rogermnj, swartz1, Counselor

Always buying Bobby Cox inserts. PM me.

Comments

• Options
    Very nice. Hard to believe they only won 1 WS title.

They were fun to watch and follow thats for sure.
  • Options
    mcadamsmcadams Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Very nice. Hard to believe they only won 1 WS title. >>

Since the advent of the wildcard era (and 6 divisions), there are 8 teams in the playoffs each year. I realize these were added in the middle of the run, but if a team won their division 14 times, all else being equal, you'd expect them to win somewhere between 1 and 2 World Series in the current format.
    Successful transactions with: thedutymon, tsalems1, davidpuddy, probstein123, lodibrewfan, gododgersfan, dialj, jwgators, copperjj, larryp, hookem, boopotts, crimsontider, rogermnj, swartz1, Counselor

• Options
    TJMACTJMAC Posts: 864 ✭✭
    I really like the minor league cards. I have never seen these before.
  • Options
    Dpeck100Dpeck100 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nice cards!