Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Am I destined to be a player collector?

I'll start this off by saying I'm a relatively young collector (23 years old). I don't have a lot of money to be spending on cards, and the majority of my purchases are done using the profit I make when I buy a card for cheap and re-sell for high. I am very knowledgable about the game and the players before my time, and I played baseball my entire life until I graduated from high school. As a collector, I love the look of "older" cards (50s, 60s, and early 70s), and have always been attracted to them as a collector. That being said, I don't feel like I could ever spend a good chunk of change on a PSA 8 or 9 of some player that I've never even heard of, even if I had unlimited funds. It just doesn't appeal to me. Maybe that will change as I get older, but right now I think I'm destined to be a collector of star players. I guess that is what makes this hobby so fun because everyone collects different things. Hell, I saw a Brett Butler collector in a thread the other day.

Are there any other folks out there who feel the same way?

Comments

• Options
    TNP777TNP777 Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Hell, I saw a Brett Butler collector in a thread the other day. >>

that dude is a total tool. Feel free to scorn and ridicule him.
  • Options
    digicatdigicat Posts: 8,551 ✭✭

<< <i>I don't feel like I could ever spend a good chunk of change on a PSA 8 or 9 of some player that I've never even heard of, even if I had unlimited funds. >>

I agree with this mind set. However, who said you need to buy graded copies of those cards? Raw cards are a perfectly fine route to go.

I collect SF Giants, and have Topps team sets from 1958 on up, as well as rookie cards of EVERYONE who's ever played for the Giants in the SF era. 99% raw. Only the Hall of Famer rookies and a few stars are in graded form.
    My Giants collection want list

WTB: 2001 Leaf Rookies & Stars Longevity: Ryan Jensen #/25