Home U.S. Coin Forum

So-Called Dollars - PCGS grading?

I've noticed that PCGS is getting into grading so-called dollars. Does anyone have any experience with PCGS submissions of so-called dollars?

As an aside, i've been collecting them for about 3-4 years, with most of my grading submissions going to NGC. The website www.so-calleddollar.com has a discussion board for those who might be interested, and the websites www.socalleddollar.com and www.so-calleddollars.com have good overviews based on the Hibler & Kappen book (2nd ed published in 2008). If you collect commemoratives, you might like these medals. The historical connections of many of these medals is very interesting.
So-Called Dollar Collector

Comments

• DUIGUYDUIGUY Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭

“A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly."

- Marcus Tullius Cicero, 106-43 BC
  • DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭
    Becky
  • keetskeets Posts: 25,351 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,730 ✭✭✭✭✭
    WELCOME Pioneer!
    bobimage
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • PioneerPioneer Posts: 80 ✭✭✭
    Thank you for the welcome. I guess since PCGS only recently started so-called dollar grading... it will take time to get more opinion.

http://www.numismaticamericana.com/bills-blog/pcgs-so-called-dollars-and-an-emerging-market/

As a PCGS collectors club member, I did find that PCGS does have a population report on so-called dollars at

http://www.pcgs.com/pop/

Looks like about 70 so-called dollars are graded thus far and in the pop report. I found it odd that 23 HK-449 Silver Manila Mint Opening SCDs are in the list. Wonder if someone had a horde graded.

Would any of the SCD only send the best-of-the-best to PCGS since they are fairly strict on grading ??