Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Conder New purchase

I don't know alot about these but I'm getting addicted to 200 year old copper
the 1794 I swear is a proof

If you can't swim you better stay in the boat.......

Comments

• Options
    PokermandudePokermandude Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭
    Neato. I don't know much at all about these, but that 1794 does look like a proof from here.
    http://stores.ebay.ca/Mattscoin - Canadian coins, World Coins, Silver, Gold, Coin lots, Modern Mint Products & Collections
  • Options
    DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭
    Becky
  • Options
    Nice , i too have both of these versions.Can i ask , on the "proof" one , what is that running from the 2nd c in concordia down to the s in fidelitas?
  • Options
    jfoot13jfoot13 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭
    just the way the light is reflecting on the surface, I'm not very good with a camera image
    If you can't swim you better stay in the boat.......
  • Options

<< <i>just the way the light is reflecting on the surface, I'm not very good with a camera image >>

Cool image It's one of the nicer ones ive seen. I stuck with strictly Scottish conders as there were far fewer made for obvious reasons so it seemed to stand to reason they are more scarce , more challanging and often tell a story familiar to me , like the clach na cudden stone there. Its only when the collector gets down to the smaller Scottish towns things get tricky , Edinburgh , Glasgow , Dundee and Perth , Inverness are all easier in the halfpenny conders , towns like BurntIsland and Ayr etc seem almost to not exist outside of long held collections.They do come up occasionally though , i've began collecting the conder farthings now which again are difficult to find but very satisfying when obtained.Ive yet to see a conder penny from Scotland , but they do exist.
    Congratulations on those two , by no means the easiest ones to snag , i think Edinburgh and Glasgow take that title.
  • Options