Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

I spy with my little eye ... an 1840 Durango 8 Reales pattern

Wouldn't know until prices realized are published, but there's a small chance I might have won this one. Especially if you consider it was being offered in Scotland and unattributed. I'm keeping my fingers crossed, because this would be a pretty cool score.

Thoughts?

Comments

• ZoharZohar Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Very nice eye appeal. Dont know the series at all yet its an appealing type.
  • DeiGratiaDeiGratia Posts: 273 ✭✭✭
    ooohh good luck.
    never got into cap and rays myself so I'm of no help.

Ask SwamperBob!!
  • pruebaspruebas Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭✭✭
    2K, I hope you got it!!!

I know a little something about Mexican patterns as I have been collecting them for about 15 years.

This one usually comes in silver-plated bronze (Sheffield plate), although it is known in white metal and silver (both very rare). The plated variety is plentiful as patterns go, maybe 32-64 known (I like specifying rarity as a power of 2).

They are thought to have been struck in Spain.

Believe it or not, the last one (before yours) sold in the Sep 2011 Heritage Long Beach sale for $12,000 plus the juice. I was a bidder but dropped out at a reasonable $3500 or so, but two Internet cowboys slugged it out to my astonishment, especially since it wasn't even a really nice example! Although it was graded AU58 by NGC, the edge was simply awful.

I have it on good authority that another specimen will be coming to market before the year is out.

Mind if I ask how much you paid once you're sure it's yours?

Once you have it in hand, ping me for authenticating diagnostics. The die looks good from the photo, but it almost appears cast???
    It was an AU55. My mistake. Link to lot.
  • TwoKopeikiTwoKopeiki Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭✭✭