Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Way OT -- Real Estate legal question -- Earnest money

Sorry for being off topic here, but I know there are lots of knowledgeable folks on the boards. A friend entered into a contract to purchase a home and put down $1k earnest money. The sale was contingent on her being divorced by 7/30/12 which she found she would not be last month due to the courts. Now, the real estate agent and broker at the agency state that the sellers are refusing to sign the paperwork to get her money back. Outside of hiring an attorney, is there a way to force their hand and make them sign so they can release the money back? This is in Illinois by the way. Thanks in advance for the help!

Tim
Promethius881969@yahoo.com

Comments

• Options
    JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,233 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Tim,

I am not a lawyer, but have bought several homes in my life. I live in Minnesota. I think she is out of luck. That's why it's called earnest money, it is forfeited if buyer backs out. She basically "backed out" when her divorce did not go through.

People who have her money do not have to return it in this case, as I understand it.

Hope I am wrong

Joe
    2013,14 and 15 Certificate Award Winner Harmon Killebrew Master Set and Master Topps Set
  • Options