Home Precious Metals

Picked up a commemorative set at local shop. What do you think?

Went to the local shop yesterday looking to just pick up some junk silver to add to the collection and saw this and could not pass it up. It is a proof set and has 1 oz silver 1/10th ounce gold and 1/10 ounce platinum. It says in the COA that there were only 10000 made and seemed like a good deal to me at only 400 bucks since that is not too much over spot for all of these coins in proof settings but not sure. I am new to the coin game and not as experienced as some of you all are and was wondering if you have ever seen this set or if I made a good purchase. Thanks in advance for any advise you can give.

Steve

Comments

• BaleyBaley Posts: 22,658 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I think that's awesome, and assume the other side of the coins has the medium-aged Elizabeth, rather than the really old-looking portrait they use now (my favorite is the girlish one from the 1960's)

Liberty: Parent of Science & Industry

• tneigtneig Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭
    Guess the Maple can be $60, the gold about $200, same for the platinum. $460
    Not to mention nice case and the set affect, which don't know about in the price or how common/uncommon in Canada....
    And the mint count.

Very nice! and an enjoyable collection piece which I appreciate. Kewl
    COA
  • DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭
    Nice! What's not to like?image
    Becky
  • cohodkcohodk Posts: 18,554 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I love RCM products!!

Excuses are tools of the ignorant

Knowledge is the enemy of fear

• DrBusterDrBuster Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I think that silver is just the regular one. Aren't they all proofy anyway on those regular? I've got a bunch of silver ones and I want to say that's just how they are.

Nice set, haven't seen a plat maple on here in a long while. I'd snag that set too at that price.
  • PokermandudePokermandude Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭
    It's a nice set and a pretty good price you got on it to boot.