Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

CBH Investment

I am new to the world of coins but I have a mind for economics. I would like to know if it would be economically viable to invest in the following: I would like to invest in about 100 Capped Bust Halves. Specifically low grade (raw) problem free and I repeat problem free CBH's. I'm looking for the natural grey look in grades VF20-XF45. I have come here to ask the experts. I know this question is very vague but please share.

TYVM,
~Jason

Comments

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,735 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You have written the "I" word, you will now be pilloried.image
    Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
  • Options
    RayboRaybo Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd buy stocks or annuities for an investment, I purchase coins because I really like the hobby.
  • Options
    just buy an 1807 bearded goddess and be done with it!!!
  • Options
    lkeigwinlkeigwin Posts: 16,887 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Your mind for economics should take you elsewhere. Collect coins for many reasons but not as an investment. You are just as likely to lose money as you are to gain. Those who do best are the ones with years of knowledge and experience. A newbie is likely to lose a lot. FWIW.
    Lance.
  • Options
    MrEurekaMrEureka Posts: 23,947 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I am new to the world of coins but I have a mind for economics. I would like to know if it would be economically viable to invest...

Stop right there! If you're new, it's not economically viable to invest. Even veteran collectors have trouble investing successfully. Better to start as a hobbyist, have fun and learn the game as best you can. We can talk about investing in 5-10 years.
    Andy Lustig

Doggedly collecting coins of the Central American Republic.

Visit the Society of US Pattern Collectors at USPatterns.com.
  • Options
    CoinJunkieCoinJunkie Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭✭✭