Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Are trimmed cards good for autographs? Is 'in the presence' grading worthwhile?

From the title, you can see I'm a novice on the autograph side of things. It turns out that Reggie Jackson, Jim Palmer, Frank Robinson and even PSA reps will be in the Twin Cities this weekend. I have a trimmed Reggie rookie that I bought on eBay many years ago and did not want to put back in the market. I thought it might make sense to have it autographed (I think it's $79) and then graded by PSA. They offer some sort of 'in the presence' grading service. I'm not looking to necessarily make big bucks on this. I'll probably just hang on to it for now. But does it make sense to use the trimmed card or do collectors not like this? Thanks for the input. - Kevin

Comments

• I dont see why not.....unless you send it to PSA to get the card and auto graded.
  • alifaxwa2alifaxwa2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭
    In the presence is not grading. Its authentication of autograph quickly since they saw it signed. It will get stickered.

But, there is nothing wrong with a trimmed RC. It just would have to get slabbed in blue label, not red.
    Looking to have some custom cuts or plain custom cards built? PM me.

Commissions

Check out my Facebook page
  • alifaxwa2alifaxwa2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭

<< <i>card and auto graded. >>

Not possible with PSA.
    Looking to have some custom cuts or plain custom cards built? PM me.

Commissions

Check out my Facebook page
  • IronmanfanIronmanfan Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭✭
    If you're doing this for your own collection, then it's fine....If there is a profit motive involved, I wouldn't bother (with a trimmed rookie, I just don't think you could recoup your expenses).

Good Luck either way

IMF
    Successful dealings with Wcsportscards94558, EagleEyeKid, SamsGirl214, Volver, DwayneDrain, Oaksey25, Griffins, Cardfan07, Etc.
  • Jmhockey23Jmhockey23 Posts: 652 ✭✭
    You could red flip it with the authentic label....