Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Opinions needed on the Grade of this Coin

Hello Everyone.

I would like to get a general consensus on the grade of this coin.

Any Likes or Dislikes ?

Maybe an opinion of Value ?

Thank You.

Comments

• Options
    ZoharZohar Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I like it. Some wear at high points and fields. Overall nice look to it. $300-400 value. May be an overdate 4 over something.
  • Options
    Does that look like a subtle attempt at polishing on the obverse fields to either side of old Leo's head? If not, what might cause that? I ask because I have that on a few large denomination coins from the same period.
    Yes, I do sell on Ebay

Feel free to ask for my BST references!

*I reserve the right to change the direction of my collection at whiplash-inducing speeds.
  • Options
    DeiGratiaDeiGratia Posts: 273 ✭✭✭
    Zohar you are the man.

The Seller wanted $850 for it and I thought it was not worth that price.
    Since I'm new to the market, I don't have a firm grasp on the prices yet.
    I've done some research on Past auctions on Heritage, but I'm still iffy on unslabbed coins.

Thank you so much for your opinion.
  • Options
    Even in MS60 this thing's not worth much more than $500.00. Was it an Ebay seller? There are a few on there that throw up 200% premiums on coins because they're old and they can't identify 'em. I guess its a defensive reflex against accidentally selling a million-dollar coin for a dollar. They must figure that if it's worth a lot, someone will buy it at this astronomical price, and if its not, they'll sucker someone into doing the same.
    Yes, I do sell on Ebay

*I reserve the right to change the direction of my collection at whiplash-inducing speeds.
  • Options
    Really?? Only $500 ?

Hmm according to the research I've been doing, Just recently on March 6th, an MS62 NGC sold for $977
    Heritage

Nope, not on Ebay.
    Here is the seller
    Seller