Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Post the coin(s) that "hooked" you

I was a starving college student in the late '80s, and probably had better things to do with my money than buy coins, but I picked up a box of about a dozen mixed world mint sets from the local B&M. I think I paid $3 or $4 each for them, which came to a tidy sum for me at the time.

Back in my dorm, I had a great time looking up each set in my dog-eared Krause catalog. Imagine my surprise when I found that the 1969 Japanese Mint Set (first year of issue), mintage 6162, booked for $650!

The set was housed in a cheap white PVC folder, with common coins inside, and was nothing special to look at. Pictured below is a similar set (not mine, of course). I spent a long time going back and forth between the individual KM# coin listings to verify that the coins in the set were the ones listed in the catalog ... and they matched! I had struck it rich!

I wrote letters to every dealer with a 'buy' ad listed in World Coin News describing my set and asking for their best price. I eventually sold it to K. M. Froseth in Minneapolis for $450, which I thought was a terrific deal.

I've been hooked on coins ever since.

What coin(s) "hooked" you?

Comments

• Options
    JCMhoustonJCMhouston Posts: 5,306 ✭✭✭
    I collected earlier, but in 1985 when I moved tot he UK this was the first British coin I bought, we had gone to an antique show looking for pottery and there happened to be a coin dealer set up. I had not collected for a couple of years and previously all my collecting was US coins. This is a really glossy coin, purchased raw of course for about 5 pounds I believe. I just loved the look and design of the 1787 Shillign and off I went from there. I sent it in for grading a few years ago and it came back in a 58 holder.

• Options
    ZoharZohar Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭✭✭