Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

My Day at the National

What an exhausting day. I don’t know how guys do this for three or four days straight. Here’s a recap of my adventure.

I started off the day dropping off about two thousand cards at the checkoutmycards booth. Its my first time time dropping cards with them but I've bought and flipped quite a few things on their site over the past year. They were running a great special of $55 for a 550 count box full of cards AND $20 off for first time sellers. I met Tim, the owner of the site. Great guy. If you aren't familiar with their business model, they scan and store your cards for you, basically taking care of everything from start to finish. The cost is usually 20 cents per card to list. If you spend your profit on the site buying other cards, they don't take any additional cut. If you cash out, they take 20%. The site is perfect to get rid of numbered and insert cards that aren't worth listing on eBay.

The next thing I wanted to focus on was looking for a few singles to finish off my 1972 and 1974 Topps FB sets. I'm working on two of each set in EX condition and three of the four have been put together slowly through buying lots on eBay(one of the 72 partial sets is left over from my childhood collection). So basically I need mostly stars. I can find these easy enough on eBay but I thought it might be fun to pick them up at the show and I wanted to make sure my stars were in strong EX condition. I was ready and willing to pay %25-30 over eBay just to pick them up in person and was hoping to maybe strike a quantity deal. I found only one dealer with reasonable prices. He had some nice EX condition commons for 25 cents and minor stars mixed in for pretty reasonable pricing. I picked up these for $25.