Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

1827 Argentina 5/10 Real... double struck or other?

I got an intriguing email this morning about a coin labeled by NGC as a double-struck error. Since I'm out of town, I don't have any way to look anything up, but I thought someone here might be able to help out. Here's the email and the coin:

"Sorry to bother you, but I think the NGC label is incorrect. I'm not an expert on this specific series, but I believe these were originally and purposely overstuck on another type of coin. Therefore, this coin would only be declaired a 20% off center error coin. If it were an actual double struck "error" the underlying design,(or the original strike,) would not have the branches on both sides of the coin. Thanks for your time, "

JK Coin Photography - eBay Consignments | High Quality Photos | LOW Prices | 20% of Consignment Proceeds Go to Pancreatic Cancer Research

Comments

• Options
    MrEurekaMrEureka Posts: 23,943 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It's a "flip-over double strike". The label should have been clearer.

Flip-over double strikes are generally more desirable than double strikes, so I wouldn't feel the need to warn anyone about this. Besides, it should be self-evident.

EDITED TO SAY THAT I'M NOT SO SURE THE WREATHS ARE THE SAME, SO I'M GOING BACK TO THE DRAWING BOARD.
    Andy Lustig

Doggedly collecting coins of the Central American Republic.

Visit the Society of US Pattern Collectors at USPatterns.com.
  • Options
    It is not double struck. That much is certain.

Struck off center on host?
  • Options
    TwoKopeikiTwoKopeiki Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>It is not double struck. That much is certain.

Struck off center on host? >>

Looking at the images, I would have to agree. It would help to know what the host is, but it appears the design is too different to be the double strike.
  • Options
    OK, I was wrong. It's not a FODS. It's struck off-center on an 1822-23 1/10 Real.
    Andy Lustig

• Options