Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1969 baseball supers.....any experts ???

Hi, was looking to pick up a mantle psa 8 or 9....were these really tough in higher grades and are they considered scarce???? saw one in an auction for a starting bid of 500 for a psa 9....is this in the ballpark ?? thanks for any help...ivan
always looking for 1969 graded basketball

Comments

• Options
    WondoWondo Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭
    Don't know if I'm an expert, but here is what I know:

The 1969 Supers were a limited release issue and relatively few found their way directly into collector's hands. They are not rare, and pop up occasionally in the big auctions. Due to heavy stock, rounded corners, and the distribution method (whatever that was) most cards are very high grade. There are more 8s, 9s and 10s than lower grades.

A PSA 9 Mantle should run $2k or a little less. Hope this helps.

John
    Wondo

• Options
    jivanjivan Posts: 1,009
    ty for your time and help.ivan
    always looking for 1969 graded basketball
  • Options
    rbdjr1rbdjr1 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭

<< <i>Don't know if I'm an expert, but here is what I know:

The 1969 Supers were a limited release issue and relatively few found their way directly into collector's hands. They are not rare, and pop up occasionally in the big auctions. Due to heavy stock, rounded corners, and the distribution method (whatever that was) most cards are very high grade. There are more 8s, 9s and 10s than lower grades.

John >>

John, you know more than 90% of us! image

rd
  • Options
    earlycalguyearlycalguy Posts: 1,247 ✭✭

I believe a 9 Mantle grade just sold in Heritage's Collector's Classic auction.

not rare but somewhat scarce
  • Options
    mikeschmidtmikeschmidt Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭