Home PSA Set Registry Forum

Centering Discussion

I would like to pick others' brain on how they go about determining centering.

is it a straight "get out the ruler" and measure?

Some years are tougher then others, one year that sticks out to me is the 1980 Topps Set.

How would YOU go about picking out the best centering for these issues?

1980 Topps

1981 Topps

1982 Topps

1983 Topps

1984 Topps

1985 Topps
Big Fan of: HOF Post War RC, Graded RCs
WTB: PSA 1 - PSA 3 Centered, High Eye Appeal 1950's Mantle

Comments

• SethroSethro Posts: 671 ✭✭
    I am relatively new to this, but here is what I do:

Scan at high dpi, zoom in on the card until it fills the screen and then measure with JR Screen Ruler.

JR Screen Ruler

This definitely seems more accurate than using a ruler, however I have heard that the graders only eyeball it, so maybe it's all for naught.

Positive transactions: Bighurt2000 - DavidPuddy - ShootyBabitt - Bosox1976 - LarryP - Captainthreeputt - Tedw9 - aconte -EAsports -Johnsteph10 -hhmag70 - depcs - TheThrill22 - scotgreb - longtimemetsfan - cadets68 - augustaman - mcholke - miconelegacy

• << <i>I am relatively new to this, but here is what I do:

Scan at high dpi, zoom in on the card until it fills the screen and then measure with JR Screen Ruler.

JR Screen Ruler

This definitely seems more accurate than using a ruler, however I have heard that the graders only eyeball it, so maybe it's all for naught. >>

oh, that is a nice tool indeed!

But more along the lines of what im asking..... is there any real documentaion as to what constitues "centered" for each particular year? perhaps im not making
    myself clear. im away from home, so cannot provide pictures to explain at the moment.

Lets take 1984 Topps as an example... i see many "PSA 10"'s on ebay, each with a different degrees of centering. i realize that psa allows for some leway as far as