Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

a few questions from absolute novice

what causes toning? Why is it viewed as a positive and is there any toning that is viewed as a negative?

it seems coins from proof sets are viewed differently than circulated coins. is that right? If so, why?

it seems with coins there are "wholesale dealers". i dont fully understand how you can sell coins "wholesale". who do the wholesale dealers acquire them from?

many more dumb questions to come - any help is appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    Hi,

Well, Others will chime in with better responses but...

1) Toning is caused by reactions between the metal, air and materials and/or substances on and around coins.
    2) Toning not universally regarded - it is viewed as positive, negative and in-between. Some dislike any toning, other like some kinds only and so on.
    3) Define "viewed" in regard to Proof coins and circulated coin (business strikes).
    4) Value discussions I leave to others.

Best,
    Eric
  • Options
    erickso1erickso1 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭
    Your a novice after1000+ posts and almost ten years? I applaud your restraint, unless im missing something.

• Options
    lol - i'm a baseball card guy, but i am intrigued by the coin world. FYI the coin hobby is about 50 years ahead of the baseball card world.

thx for the responses so far.

oh - as for my question on the proof coins - it seems high grade coins (for example, say a lincoln cent from the 50's) might go for a bunch of money, but it just SEEMS to me that the same issue Proof coins (which i presume would be higher grade) don't sell for the same type of money. Am i wrong on this assumption (easily could be). if so, why arent more proof sets just broken out for individual coins to be sold for the higher value?

i'm rambling - but bottom line, are proof coins viewed somewhat "differently" that circulated coins?
  • Options