Home U.S. Coin Forum

So this guy calls me on the phone and asks me, do you collect coins?

crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭✭
And I say, who is this? He says a friend of yours gave me your phone # and told me to call you, he says you like nickels. Well, this got my attention! It turns out to be a guy who has a old coin album full of nickels and wants to sell them. I meet this guy at a coffee house and he pulls out this old Wayte Raymond coin album, the hard back edition. Well this got my heart pumping. All he had in there were these Jefferson nickels, I was hoping for Buffs. So I bought em allimage These are some, I have a few more, just to lazy to post. All have great color and luster, some even look as they're full steps. I don't collect these Jefferson nickels and I'm not very good at grading these, but there's a few that look pretty good. Comments are always welcome, I'll probably sell these and buy some more Buffs....]image

imageimage
imageimage
imageimage

Here's a couple of more....I know what you might be thinking...Hey Joe they didn't make Wayte Raymond coin albums for Jefferson nickels, right? Well they were in a Buffalo Nickel album with the dates hand written in..
imageimage
The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.

Comments

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,515 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Some attractive toning there! I don't do nickels either so won't grade them but
    it looks like they were pretty dang new when they went into the album.

bobimage
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • savoyspecialsavoyspecial Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭✭
    >>So this guy calls me on the phone and asks me, do you collect coins?>>

this would have been quite unsettling to me but it sounds as if it worked out in the end to your favor......nice coins!

www.brunkauctions.com

• Those are very nice! I would be interested in them
  • crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭✭