Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

PSA vs SGC Grading

I am fairly new to card buying/selling and I am interested in other collectors opinions concerning the pluses/minuses’ for grading by PSA versus SGC. I just received a 1934 card back from being graded by PSA and was disappointed with the PR 1 grade; especially since I have another 1940 card graded VG 3 by SGC. The only real difference in the cards was the 1934 card had a slightly frayed corner. Additionally, I went online and was able to examine several of the same 1934 cards that were also graded PR 1 that were in a lot WORSE condition. I have considered having it re-graded by SGC and would appreciate comments from other collectors.image

Comments

• Options
    BrickBrick Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi, hello, how are ya? image

Both are quality companies in my opinion and the same card most times would receive similar grades from either one, within a grade or so. There are technicalities such as a pin hole which would make a card a PSA 1 no matter how nice it is otherwise. Post war PSA seems to sell the best. SGC has a fabuluos reputation for pre war cards. It may not hurt to get a second opinion but I would not expect a big swing in grades.
    Collecting 1960 Topps Baseball in PSA 8
    http://www.unisquare.com/store/brick/

Ralph

• Options
    fkwfkw Posts: 1,766 ✭✭
    The problem with TPG is their scale leaves no room at the bottom.

when I first started collecting a "Poor" card was a card that was ripped in 1/2 and taped back together, or had hole punches, major writing, a dozen heavy spiderweb creases or extremely rounded corners (ie many Zeenut cards altered for flipping).

Now days a card can get a "1" grade for having a single closed pinhole in the top border, or for having 3-4 average creases, etc.

Poor should mean the worst of all, not something that looks VG/EX from 5' away...

PS IM a SGC fan, not a PSA fan at all.
  • Options
    judgebuckjudgebuck Posts: 989 ✭✭✭