Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Consistent Differences in Grading Between PCGS and NGC ... Myth or Reality in the Present Day?

Hi folks,

I apologize in advance if this discussion isn't permitted, but after reading a recent thread "dragged up" from years ago by a recent post, I was just curious to hear thoughts from the member base on this board on this issue. It seems that I often hear comments about how PCGS and NGC differ in the way they grade, but I was just curious as to whether you all feel this is indeed the case in the present day (say in the past year or so). My personal experience has been that both have been relatively tight recently, but I frankly can't point to any consistent "difference" in the grading of the two companies (of course I have no where near the experience of many on this board so I could very well be entirely wrong!). I am just curious to hear your thoughts - Do you think NGC indeed still grades looser at particular grades or in particular series, or do you feel the two are roughly comparable overall.

As always any opinions are great to hear. image

Comments

• Options
    MoldnutMoldnut Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭✭
    I have found that the last few years the guys ATS are a bit tighter on capped bust coins in AG-VF. But thats just what I see.

Oh yeah, lower grade 1916-D dimes too!
    Derek

EAC 6024
  • Options
    djdilliodondjdilliodon Posts: 1,938 ✭✭
    I submit mostly franklin halves and washington quarters. On franklins i havent noticed much of a difference except ATS they are tougher on the FBL designation. With washington quarters i have noticed they are pretty much the same upto MS66. Above MS66 i have to give it to PCGS as the tougher graders.