Home Stamps Forum
Options

I got out my collection...wow!

BillyKingsleyBillyKingsley Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭✭
I'm blown away by what I have here. It's about double the size of what I remembered it being, and it appears most of them are from the 1950s-1970s range! As I may have mentioned before, my mom gave me her collection, which was apparently quite sizable. I had thought that she pulled most of them off letters back when they were new, but when talking to her about it it seems like she actually purchased most of them at a local shop, which she thinks may still be in buisness in her home town! (We'll be finding out, soon)

I have not gone through the entire collection in more than a decade- I'm not actually sure if I've ever gone through them in their entirety! I have not even looked into the box since 2008.

This photo does not include the ones I've bought from myself, (small number, about 300 world issues), or the ones I've been pulling off letters for the past 12 years or so.

It looks like there are about 500 stamps in the box, maybe more, maybe less...mostly from the US but not totally. (There is quite a large selection of Hungary and Sharjah- I don't even know where Sharjah is! They seem to really like cats, though). I know there are duplicates. Almost all of them have been used (IE, mailed and cancelled- I'm spelling it out because I don't know if used is the right term) I know I have a bunch of the Peace Corps 8 cents issue and more Conserve/Develop Energy issues from 1977 than I know what to do with, lol.

I am going to catalog what I've got, here. That has never been done before, or if my mom did catalog what she got- the catalog no longer survives. I'll be doing it in Excel. The ones in the lid are what I've typed in already, that's already 68 different stamps and I've barely scratched the surface here.