Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

NCNA

Any Members of NCNA regualar posters here??
J'har

Comments

• Options
    savoyspecialsavoyspecial Posts: 7,272 ✭✭✭✭
    i was a member years back but my membership has since expired

www.brunkauctions.com

• Options
    Maybe jdimmick?
  • Options
    CameonutCameonut Posts: 7,274 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm in NC but have no idea what NCNA is.

“In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." - Thomas Jefferson

My digital cameo album 1950-64 Cameos - take a look!

• Options

<< <i>I'm in NC but have no idea what NCNA is. >>

Link
  • Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,423 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not a member, but I'm a former NC resident and used to go to the NCNA shows.

I'll edit to add a personal anecdote that will interest perhaps 10% of you and bore the crap out of the remaining 90%.

It was at the NCNA show at the state fairgrounds in 2000 that I started my Holey Coin Vest thing. Johnny Atha is a local there who had a western shirt with all kinds of holey coins sewn on it, from depression-era scrip to Draped Bust quarters. They were sewn all over the shirt randomly, and jingled considerably when he moved. "I like 'em to bang together," he told me. I winced inwardly at the thought.

Then I decided to do it myself, but improve on the idea and do it a bit more artistically. I put the coins on fishing swivels so they could be taken off or put on without having to resew each time, and I added some semiprecious gemstone beads and other baubles, just to be totally over the top. A few years later my trademark top hat with holey gold coins came along.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    I am also in NC and had never heard of the organization. I printed a copy of their application and might join. They are out of Statesville, about 60 miles from here.

Ron