Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Where does a coin newbie start?

Hi there,

This is my first real post to this forum, and I am new to collecting coins. Brand new. In fact, I don't even HAVE a coin in my collection yet, however I do have experience in collecting currency. Coins intrigue me for a number of reasons, so I recently decided to start building a nice type set of US coins to complement my type sets of currency. I have a 2010 Red Book for coins, and have gone through every page of it. I have used the Red Book to put together an Excel sheet of the coins I will need to collect to complete my set, including grade and year ranges for each type that are a fit for my budget. So, I have some very broad knowledge of coins, and I'm reasonably well organized to start building a collection.

With that said, here's a few things I could use some help with:

Pricing. What resources - magazines, books, software - do you find helpful with tuning your offer or bid range on a particular coin? This is really the biggest question mark for me. On the currency side, there is software that tracks collectible currency transactions from eBay, Heritage and all major auction houses (the one I use is called Track & Price). Is there something similar available for coins? (T&P coins is out of date).

Grading (1). Are there any TPGs that have "problems"? Are there any that are regarded as top of the class? This is particularly important to me as I will be buying mostly graded coins, and while I won't be "buying the holder", I'd like to stick to the most trustworthy grading services. (Feel free to PM me if this topic if is unwelcome in the public forum)

Grading (2). What are some good resources - magazines, books, websites - that offer help with grading on your own. I would like to learn about the methods and standards that TPGs, or collectors in general, use for coins.

Any other valuable links for a currency newbie are always welcome.

Thanks.
I like large size currency and silver dollars.