Home U.S. Coin Forum

Key Date grading - I don't understand it...

dsessomdsessom Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭✭✭
As many of you here know by now, my favorite series is Liberty nickels. I have been studying this series for about 3 years now. I buy books, and learn as much as I can about this series from this forum, other Internet sources and collector and dealer friends. You would think by now, that I could with some degree, grade this series with some accuracy. Well, in general the TPG and I agree pretty closely when it comes to grading the Liberty nickel series. HOWEVER...
When it comes to KEY dates (1885, 1886, 1912-S), it all goes out the window. Now, I am no way saying that the TGPs are inaccurate, especially our hosts who are in my opinion the best, most accurate and have the tightest quality. Otherwise, I'd be posting on "the other guys" forums.

Here is my issue, and I sincerely hope that a few current or ex-professional graders can chime in and help me here... Why, when it comes to key dates (at least in the Liberty nickel series) does the grading seem to be inconsistant, and pretty much all over the place? I have seen LOTS of PCGS graded Liberty nickels in the last 3 years, and common and semi-keys seem for the most part to be consistantly graded. I know that in grading, the following are considered: Strike, luster, wear, marks and dings, scarcity, and eye appeal (color/toning). I have also brought this subject up to a few collector and dealer freinds who have far more experience than I do, but they all pretty much agreed that the key dates in this series seem to be graded less consistantly than common and semi keys.

So, any insight into this "issue" would be greatly appreciated. I consider myself still a bit of a beginner in numismatics, and am only trying to learn.

To illustrate my point, I have a couple of images for comparison. Although there are definately subtle differences in these coins, I for the life of me cannot see a 15 point spread (and CAC?).