Home U.S. Coin Forum

New to board, need advise 3 dollar gold

I am new to coin collecting, and need a lot of help. I have a coin I found 40 years ago that I have had in a safe since then. I would like to have it graded by PCGS, but have no idea what grade to give it when sending it in. Maybe some of you experts could give me an opinion on the grade to list, and if you think it is worth grading. here are a few pictures if I can get them loaded, this is my first try at loading pictures.

Comments

• ManorcourtmanManorcourtman Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome! An expert will be along shortly to help!
  • kimber45ACPkimber45ACP Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭

It's kind of hard to tell from the pics. IMO, the pics lead me to think that it may have been cleaned.
    If you submit the coin without a minimum grade checked, it will get the graded determined by
    PCGS, assuming it does not get body bagged. Do you have any other pics that are larger in size?
  • droopyddroopyd Posts: 5,381 ✭✭✭
    Even if cleaned and thus not gradeable, it would be worth getting inro a "Genuine" holder to at least assure that it is fact genuine.

This is a series in which there are many counterfeits.
    Me at the Springfield coin show:
    60 years into this hobby and I'm still working on my Lincoln set!
  • coinguy1coinguy1 Posts: 13,484 ✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum.

The obverse and reverse images are so different that they make it look as if you shot two different coins. Are you in an area where you can show it to someone knowledgeable for an opinion, before submitting it to PCGS?
  • PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,992 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>Even if cleaned and thus not gradeable, it would be worth getting inro a "Genuine" holder to at least assure that it is fact genuine.

This is a series in which there are many counterfeits. >>

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.
    "Paper money eventually returns to its intrinsic value---zero."----Voltaire